I was born to rock’n’roll, everything I need! I was born with the hammer down, I was built for speed!

The Show Sunday was awesome! Nashville Pussy and The Reverend Horton Heat opened for Motörhead but I didn’t know that until I got to S’s place. We both decided that Nashville Pussy sucks so we left for the show later.

I’d never been to the House of Blues before, and while it’s a lovely venue, I miss Avalon and Axis. I think we were teleported back to 1976. Everyone at the show was a scene kid, a grizzled old biker, or a scene kid trying to look like a grizzled old biker. You would think that even the most die-hard failed Allston rocker would, sometime in their 30s, figure out that wearing a straw cowboy hat to complement your 6 inch goatee makes you look like an asshole. Apparently not.  Even all the cops had 70’s facial hair! A bottle of water was only 50 cents cheaper than a can of red bull, and PBR tall boys were $6.25. By the end of the night, we had spent so much on water, red bull and beer that I couldn’t get a shirt. $7 for a beer hurt. It didn’t stop me, but ouch man.

The Heat!

The Reverend Horton Heat!

The Heat was fucking awesome as usual and did some stuff of their brand new album.  “Ain’t No Saguaro in Texas” and “Please Don’t Take the Baby to the Liquor Store” were two of my personal favorites.

I ran into Tackle Box, which wasn’t a surprise that he was there, but literally running into him and his wife was. He told me that Tommy Somerville was going to be there and I informed him that Mona VonCunt was wandering around somewhere. While I never caught up with either of them, Metal George and I connected and drank lots of beer and screamed out a conversation the best we could over the din of the room. The fact that we were both wearing earplugs didn’t make it any easier either. I was a little sad that I didn’t see all my friends there, but the place was so packed!

View from the floor

View from the floor

Finally all the beer and redbull caught up with me, so I hit the bathroom. Damn Murphy and his laws, because sure enough, Motörhead went on while I was peeing.  Great show and my first time seeing Lemmy and the boys. Perfect timing too as Mikkey Dee is leaving the tour to go on some Swedish reality show. Boston may have been his last tour date. Matt Sorum is his replacement. Motörhead was great, but not loud enough. This was the “Louder Than Everything Else” tour, but nothing was loud enough.

Lemmy Is God

Lemmy Is God

Here’s the set list:

Iron Fist
Stay Clean
Be My Baby
Rock Out
Metropolis
Over The Top
One Night Stand
I Got Mine
The Thousand Names Of God
Another Perfect Day
In The Name Of Tragedy- Drum Solo
Just ‘Cos You Got The Power
Going To Brazil
Killed By Death
Bomber

Encore:
Whorehouse Blues
Ace Of Spades
Overkill

Apparently, the HoB puts the PA on louder than the band volume…nothing like high volume Zappa to drive out the crowd at the end of the night. (Personally I’m a fan of Zappa.) Motörhead on any night still kicks ass. I’m still pumped up from the show and I can’t wait for Saturday. Seemless is playing their last show ever in Worcester. Hope you got your tickets!

Leave a Reply

