An open letter to all my friends.

Let me start out first and foremost like this,

You are my friend. You are uniquely you, a human being with hopes and dreams, flaws and perfections. This is why I like you. I like you for being you.

With saying that, what I’m about to say next makes me feel like I am a bad friend.

I love you all, and I will be there for you in your times of need but for the next three days can you not hit auto-dial to my phone with your problems? Please? Unless someone is dead or your missing a limb or digit, please leave me alone. I am up to my eyeballs with everyone else’s problems. Someone has decided to take out all their problems/aggression on me and doesn’t know why. One second I’m getting hate mail, the next apologies. Another person has had their heart ripped out and shit on and continues to let him ruin their day/life by letting him back into it when they are weak. I had a very long conversation with someone who is constantly being betrayed by the ones they trust most and then was actually assaulted while on a trip by the very ones they visited. I have friends that are lonely and want me to play match maker. I have friends that hate their relationships and want me to help them get out of it. I have friends who drial me at all hours of the night and friends who show up in the most unexpected places completely uninvited (but not unwelcome). I have friends that are chronically unhappy and try to get me to either drag them up and out of it, or drag me down into it, because misery loves company.

Most importantly I have friends. And I am grateful for each and everyone of you, and I am flattered that you do come to me in your times of need for a shoulder to cry on and that you think I give solid advice. But I have a news flash for you. I too am a human being with hopes and dreams, flaws and perfections. I am just an ordinary girl who has lived an anything but ordinary existence. I have led a tumultuous life and come out mostly sane. Mostly. But seriously guys, I have my own problems and shit I need to work out. Plus, I woke up feeling pretty shitty today. Not so much depressed as actually physically sick. I need to sleep and get over whatever is giving me a potential sinus infection/massive migraines. Trust me, I am no good to anyone when I’m not on top of my game, and this kid needs a break from EVERYTHING. Three days is not a lot. At least, I don’t think it’s too much to ask for.

I do love and adore each and every one of you, but for the next three days, The doctor is OUT.

Leave a Reply

