Whiskey Tango Foxtrot

Zack called me last night to tell me that after my urging him to go to the hospital to find out why his belly button has been bleeding and he’s had intense stomach pain, he did go to the hospital only to find out that there is a LARGE malignant tumor between his guts and skin. He’s been in pain for roughly 5 years and the doctors in Portland, ME had completely misdiagnosed him. They are removing it Wednesday, the same day he’s supposed to sign a lease for his new place. Since he didn’t catch it early, they have to search him to see if the cancer is anywhere else in his body, and he might only have 8 months to live… or they might find that it’s only the mass in his stomach and he can live out his days yelling at kids to get off his lawn.
This is completely fucked up. Zack is like my big brother. I’ve known him since high school, but we became really close after Mark and him buried the hatchet at Neil Simpson’s funeral. Zack was a great support when Mark and I split up, actually giving me good advice and whatnot. When him and Ann Marie split, I was right there for him, coaching him through it and helping him get settled on the Cape. This fucking sucks. I’m so bummed out and sad.. I mean, what the fuck do I say to him? “Gee, you have cancer, that sucks man.” All I know is that I couldn’t let on how upset I was and NOT cry in front of him. Otherwise, when he breaks down and is ready to give in, he won’t listen to me being strong for him and push him back into the fight for his life. I know this man is an unstoppable juggernaut of a human, but he’s also one of my best friends and this totally breaks my heart…

Leave a Reply

