Life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

Officially, Memorial Day, observed on the last Monday of May (this year it’s May 30), honors the honors the war dead.  This day is not to be confused with Veterans Day, which is observed on November 11 to honor military veterans, both dead and alive. However, confusion abounds anyway, with the weekend marking for many the kickoff of summer, and it is reserved for weekend getaways, picnics, BBQs, traffic and sales.

Then there are those  who get all pushy with their patriotism and whoops-a-daisy! The whole reason those people are dead, goes flying out the window…

Exhibit A: An old friend of mine from high school posted this to Facebook.

If you don't believe in God, the terrorists win!

I would like to think that I made my opinion with class and without being overly pushy of my own beliefs, even though I pretty much pointed out that his post is bullshit, and requesting others to repost would be a farce. He then deleted my comments, because freedom of speech backed with knowledge and facts is too powerful of a tool. I was also the only person who commented on this post.

Exhibit B: Patriotism depicted from the 40’s (WWII era)

Our boys over seas get all the support we can give, while sacrificing our own comforts.

Exhibit C: Patriotism now. (11 years post 911)

'MERICA! FUCK YEAH! Meet you down at the wallmarts, I need to cash my disability check and hate on the commie bastards on welfare that don't have a job.

Now all of you good Christian, Catholic, Baptist, Jewish, Muslims out there who are all butt hurt over my hedonistic ways about me praising the separation of church and state and calling me “Unpatriotic”, Get real. You are ALL GOD FEARING people, and yet, you fear not the “god” you worship, but rather retaliation from each other all because you have different beliefs. I can’t get behind the Gods, who are more vengeful, angry, and dangerous if you don’t believe in them! Why can’t all these Gods just get along? I mean, they’re omnipotent and omnipresent, so what’s the problem? Personally, I think believing in an invisible man in a cloud chair with wings who will spank you/smote you because you didn’t say ten hail Mary’s after you ate the last slice of pizza at a party (coveting thy neighbors food) seems a bit too far-fetched for me. Nor do I believe praying to him/her will: allow me to do better on my math test, make johnny football hero fall in love with me, win the lottery, or make the asshole who stole my iPod drown in a storm drain. When did your beloved God become your personal wish pig?

American soldiers go to fight for my freedom of speech so I can tell you all to go fuck yourselves and  HELLO?! The first settlers on the Mayflower set sail across the Atlantic for freedom from religious prosecution. The Pilgrims’ story of seeking religious freedom has become a central theme of the history and culture of the United States. “Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness” is one of the most famous phrases in the United States Declaration of Independence and considered by some as part of one of the most well crafted, influential sentences in the history of the English language. These three aspects are listed among the “unalienable rights” or sovereign rights of man, which is what our country was founded on. The Bill of Rights is a series of limitations on the power of the United States federal government, protecting the natural rights of liberty and property including freedom of religion, freedom of speech, a free press, free assembly, and free association, as well as the right to keep and bear arms.

So stick that in your freedom pipe and smoke it.

I’m going to lay some flowers and little flags at my Uncle’s and Great Grandfather’s graves, go home, get pissed drunk on my porch, and continue to speak my mind as loudly as possible because some extremely brave men and women paid the ultimate price so I can do those things. Not doing them would be an insult to their legacy.

Class dismissed.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

